Asian Cooking · Easy Home Cooking · plant based · recipes for dinner · Side Dishes · vegetarian

Easy Delicious Vegetarian Japchae

I still remember when was the first time I tried true Korean dishes, it was when I was still a uni student back home in Indo. One of the cool thing about my campus back then was the cafe, restaurant, book store and coffee shop, when most of my friend’s  campuses didn’t have any of them 🙂 well, I was talking about 15 years ago when we had no idea what was social media and smart phone was!

Even though I still don’t like the major I took, but I can’t deny that it was an exciting experience to be there and become one of the student. There was an uber  cool bookstore and a Korean gourmet restaurant there right exactly besides our classroom. That was the first time for me to had a chance to tried the true Korean food and culture. We had plenty Korean students there as well. Oh my Gah, it was a very good time!
Alright, so this Japchae has been stealing my heart since day the one I tried it and year and years goes by I never had a gut to try to make it by my own. Until I have had no choice anymore since everything so expensive here in United States, I tried to manage cooking it by myself and turned out delicious! Ok, but what is easy and how is easy 🙂 Here you go, let’s get started!


Ingredients :

  • sweet potato glass noodle 4 oz
  • bunch of spinach
  • 1/2 cup of thinly julienne carrots
  • half of red bell pepper, julienne
  • half of large onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 stalk green onion, sliced in 1 inch or 2 inches lengthwise
  • 1 cup shiitake mushroom ( I’m using the fresh one right here  but you can use dried one too )
  • 2 eggs, divided into yolks and white eggs
  • soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • sesame seed
  • minced of garlic 2 tbsp
  • brown sugar
  • black pepper
  • salt

Method :

  1. Marinated the shiitake mushroom that has been thinly sliced with 1 tbsp of soy sauce, 1 tsp sesame oil, a pinch of black pepper, brown sugar, freshly minced garlic 1 tbsp. Mix it well and marinated it, set it aside or put in the fridge while we preparing another stuff.
  2. Bring a water to boil in a pot and cook the noodles about 6 – 8 minutes. Drain it in the cold running water and set aside**
  3. Blanch the spinach, take the water by squeezing it out and chop it. Add pinch of salt, sesame oil and set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk your yolk and egg whites one at a time. Add pinch of salt to taste. Wipe a little bit of oil to your frying pan. Set the heat to low or turn it off because you want to make a pretty colour of “egg paper” 🙂 Put the yolk and white eggs one at a time and let it cool down. Thinly slice it later to make a garnish as well.
  5. Saute the garlic onion and the onion until it looks translucent and fragrant. Add pinch of salt and set aside in a mixing bowl. Next will be the red bell pepper and carrots, do the same method and set aside in the mixing bowl.
  6. Sear the marinated mushrooms in the pan until it brown and fragrant. I tasted it when they are in cooking process, i added a little bit of salt since I use low sodium soy sauce.

The fun part is now coming,mixing time!

** Mix the soy sauce, brown sugar, sesame oil ( 1 tbsp each ) and 1/4 cup of water and boil it in a pot over medium heat and put your noodle there. Add black pepper if you want more taste. Mix altogether the stuff in the mixing bowl, put one tsp freshly minced garlic as well and stir it very gently with all the ingredients. Pour it with more sesame oil and salt if you want to. In a generous amount, pour the roasted sesame seeds and the don’t forget the garnish as well! Enjoy your vegetarian Japchae!

 

 

Leave a Reply

